Monday, April 22, 2013 - 3:41 AM

THE West Australian Football League has announced its State Squad for this year’s game against the Victorian Football League in Northam on May 11.

The initial squad of 33 will commence training at Fremantle Oval at 5.30pm on Monday, April 22 and train another four times in the lead up to the game, including a session at Northam (4pm Friday, May 10). 

Claremont premiership coach Marc Webb will coach the side after leading the Tigers to both the WAFL and Foxtel Cup flags in his first season as a senior coach last year.

Webb said he was excited about the opportunity to coach WA and looking forward to leading the WAFL’s top players into action against the best from the VFL.

“As a player it was something I always aspired to do and now to have the opportunity to coach the State side is great. We haven’t beaten the Vics for quite a while so it’s going to be a great challenge,” Webb said.

He will be assisted in the role by current East Perth and former State Coach Brian Dawson, former State 18s coach, Dockers and Claremont player Brad Wira, and ex-East Perth and Carlton player Adam Pickering. Claremont Assistant Wayne Orsi is the Chairman of Selectors.

Players will be added to or removed from the squad based on form and fitness in the lead-up to the game, with a final side to be named at a jumper presentation on Wednesday, May 8.

WAFL fans can select their own side and have the chance to win some great prizes in the WAFL State Team Competition proudly supported by The West Australian by visiting – www.wafl.com.au/stateteam



Claremont – David Crawford, Anton Hamp, Trinity Handley, Jake Murphy, Ryan Neates, Ian Richardson, Mark Seaby

East Fremantle – Steven Dodd, Rory O’Brien, Andrew Stephen

East Perth – Paul Johnson, Brendan Lee, Garry Moss, Josh Smith, Craig Wulff

Peel Thunder – Paul Bower, Marlon Motlop

Perth – Paul Bevan

South Fremantle – Sean Tighe

Subiaco – Jason Bristow, Brett Mahoney, Jarrod Kayler-Thomson

Swan Districts – Tallan Ames, Tim Geappen, Kyle Hams, Graham Jetta, Wayde Twomey

West Perth – Aaron Black, Steven Browne, Rohan Kerr, Shane Nelson, Andrew Strijk, Jay Van Berlo